Ricky Martin Admits He Was Homophobic And Bullied Gays

Pop singer Ricky Martin

Pop singer Ricky Martin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In a candid interview published in the September edition of Australia‘s GQ magazine, the 41-year-old Grammy Award winner reveals how he struggled accepting his sexuality and he would bully gay people because he was in denial of who he was.

“I was very angry, very rebellious,” Martin told the magazine. “I used to look at gay men and think, I’m not like that, I don’t want to be like that, that’s not me. I was ashamed.”

The Puerto Rican star, who came out as a gay man publicly in 2010, said he remembers how growing up Roman Catholic he was filled with shame for his feelings and impulses.

“When you’re told you’re wrong by everyone, from society, from your faith – my self-esteem was crushed,” he said. “I took my anger out on those around me.”

Read more: 

Leave a Reply

